506th Airborne Infantry

Regiment Association


  • 1 Jun 2022 14:48 | Anonymous

    Fred May, Chairman of the Association's Scholarship Committee has announced the committee's choices for the three scholarships available for 2023.  The winners are: 

    William Beaudoin is the winner of the $2,500 John and Marcia Lally Service Award Scholarship.  William is the son of Colonel Greg Beaudoin who formerly served as the commander of the 1st Battalion, 506 Infantry Regiment.  He will be attending the University of Alabama as a McCollough Pre-Medical Scholar this fall.


    Sophia Kreiman is the granddaughter of Thomas Waggoner, A Company, 1/506 Infantry Battalion, 101st Airborne Division who served in Vietnam, 70-71.  Sophia is entering her senior year at Michigan State University where she plans to receive her bachelor's in environmental biology with a minor in Conservation, Recreation, and Environmental enforcement. 


    Zoe Drake has been awarded the $1,500 Currahee Scholarship.  Zöe is a 2023 graduate of Clarksville High School, is the daughter of Joshua Drake, who served with the 1st Battalion 506th Infantry Regiment at Fort Campbell from 2005-2011.  In the fall of 2023, Zoe will be a student at the University of Memphis, majoring in International Studies with a goal to eventually work for the United Nations.

    More information and pictures of the winners can be found by going to programs / charitable programs and giving / scholarship fund / 2023 scholarship recipients. 

  • 25 May 2022 14:50 | Anonymous

    Election of the Officers and Directors for 2022 – 2024.  With the exception of the treasurer, the entire slate consists of current board members.  It is:

    Craig Oglesby (GWOT)       Chairman      2nd Term

    Jim Daigle (GWOT)             President       Moved up from director’s position

    Open                                    Secretary       (Note 1)

    Chris Donavant (GWOT)     Treasurer      New Member (GWOT) (Note 2)

    Fred May (RVN)                  Director, Charitable Funds

    Joel Hamby (GWOT)           Director

    Dave Schulz (GWOT)          Director

    Wesley Bass (GWOT)         Director

    Bob Leibecke (RVN)           Director

    Jimmy Summer (GWOT)    Director

    Joe Johnson (RVN)            Director

    Note 1.  Tina Daigle who is a volunteer currently handling our quartermaster store has agreed to learn our new website program and handle many of the administrative duties previously performed by our Association Administrator, Kelli Loar.  We will pay Tina to assume these duties at a yet to be determined hourly rate.  Joe will assist Tina with the secretarial duties unless another member steps forward offering to assist.

    Note 2.  SGM(R) Chris Donavant has agreed to perform the treasurer duties.  Chris is a retired sergeant major who served as Craig Oglesby’s 1st sergeant in Fox Company, 2-506.  Chris owns his own company in Virginia.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software